Visit St.
Andrew's Prep
News Archive

Duke of Edinburgh Gold Awards

On Tuesday 5 February nine former Eastbourne College pupils and their parents visited St James’s Palace in London to be presented with their Duke of Edinburgh Gold Awards. They were accompanied by Mr Lucey, a key member of the Eastbourne College Duke of Edinburgh team for 21 years. The award winners and their guests enjoyed two hours in the sumptuous private banqueting rooms of the palace and were congratulated and entertained by broadcaster and songwriter Sir Richard Stilgoe before meeting HRH The Earl of Wessex, to share stories of their gold award experience.

The pupils were celebrated by all present for their incredible accomplishment. Each recipient had achieved all five parts of their award showing commitment over several years – completing a residential course, an expedition in wild country, a physical activity, learning a new skill and volunteering to help others.

The photograph here shows the successful OEs with Mr Lucey outside Saint James’s Palace after the ceremony. The award winners were Alexandra Simpson (Blackwater 2012), Amy Corfield (Watt, 2012), Katherine Allan (Blackwater, 2012), William Langer (Gonville, 2011), Ella Harriott (Blackwater, 2012), Elizabeth Hodkinson (Blackwater 2007), Kenneth Lam (Wargrave 2012), Oliver Bensted-Smith (Wargrave 2012) and Jonathan Langer (Gonville, 2008).