Visit St.
Andrew's Prep
News Archive

Young Musician 2017

The 2017 Young Musician of the Year Final took place in the Birley Centre on Tuesday 7 March. The College was delighted to welcome Mr Howard Ionascu, Director of the Junior Royal Academy of Music to judge this year’s competition.

There were some superb performances in each of the four classes – Junior, Intermediate, Senior and Duet, with winners chosen in each category.
The overall prize of Young Musician(s) of the Year was awarded to Sian Sulke and Aidan Tam for their duet. 
Mr Ionascu commented, “This was a mature and highly musical performance. The rapport between the two performers was superb and they both communicated the music with great conviction.”
The competitors and results were as follows:
Duet Class
Ellie Long and Ashraf Owasil 
Sian Sulke and Aidan Tam – winner
Junior Class
Edward Gent – winner
Elo Quitmann
Intermediate Class
Thomas Goodenough
Ellie Long
Billy Nicholles
Sophie Nicholles – winner
Senior Class
Chelsea Chung
Spike Gleave
Charles Pendry
Tom Sangster
Sian Sulke
Aidan Tam – winner
James Tomlinson
Mr Dan Jordan, Direcor of Music at eastbourne College, commented , “Congratulations to all the performers for their hard work and fantastic playing on the night and thank you very much indeed to all those who came to support.