Visit St.
Andrew's Prep
News Archive

Young Musicians 2013

The Finals of the annual Eastbourne College Young Musicians of the Year Competition took place in the Birley Centre on 7 and 14 March. There were almost one hundred entries for this year’s competition, with thirty six performances selected for the final round. Throughout the competition audiences were treated to polished performances in all musical styles.

This year`s adjudicator was Paul Gregory, a well known classical guitarist. He communicated superbly with both the performers and the audience, making valuable suggestions with sensitivity and good humour . Both Finals were very well attended with all performances applauded enthusiastically. Thanks go to Richard Lakin, Jackie Lakin, Jane Mansergh and David Force for accompanying so many performers on the piano.

The winner of the Grade Five and Under Category was Noah Britton (Piano), Grades Six and Seven Categories, Lia Dunn (Piano) and the winner of the Grade Eight and Above Category was Jenni Hreben (Violin). This is the second year running that Jenni has won the title in this category.