Visit St.
Andrew's Prep
News Archive

Headmaster’s Commendations March 2013

The Headmaster is pleased to commend the following people:

Fleur Kimber and Nell Peters, both Year 13 Blackwater, for their highly efficient and successful Valentine Roses fundraising initiative and to Lizzie Prideaux, Year 13 Nugent, for the time and energy spent to help prepare and deliver the roses.

Katya Goodwin, Year 9 Watt, and James Tomlinson, Year 9 Powell, for their outstanding personal performances in The Musicians.

George Grave, Sam Henderson & Chris Bensted-Smith, all Year 12 Wargrave, for their efforts in raising what will hopefully be £1500 for charity and for the superhuman physical and organisational efforts they put in throughout the 24 hour period of the Good Hope Challenge.

Ben Foster, Year 11 Gonville, and Alec York, Year 11 Wargrave, in recognition of the significant amount of time and effort they have put in to their application for the Arkwright Scholarship examination over many weeks. Despite not being called to interview, they have demonstrated high levels of competence and commitment.

Ed Richards, Year 12 Gonville, in recognition of his standing in at short notice, without hesitation, to play for the 1st IV Fives team, despite the fact that the matches were away at Bedford and Oundle over exeat weekend. Furthermore he ended up by playing a crucial role in securing the win against Bedford, thus maintaining the team’s 100% winning record this term.

Megan Hill-Smith, Year 13 School House, for her beautifully painted ‘reading dragon’, produced in her free time for a display of younger pupils’ reading suggestions in the LRC. 

George Grave, Year 12 Wargrave, for his tireless efforts to motivate others to participate in and support a range of charity initiatives in his role as a member of The Charity Society, leading by example at all times.

The folowing pupils for their excellent performances at the Young Musician of the Year Competition:

Jenni Hreben on violin, Year 13 Watt, winner of the Grade 8 and above category; Lia Dunn on piano, Year 9 Watt, winner of the Grade 6 and 7 category and Noah Britton on piano, Year 10 Powell, winner of the Grade 5 and under category.