Visit St.
Andrew's Prep
News Archive

Prep Schools’ U12 Hockey Tournament

On Monday 15 October ten teams from eight prep schools arrived at Eastbourne College to take part in a training session with South African international hockey player, Chris Hibbert. This was followed by a closely fought competition for the U12 hockey trophy.

Braving the heavy rain showers, 84 U12 girls and their coaches arrived at the College’s Beresford astro keen to learn new skills from the guest coach.

After the training session, this year’s Eastbourne College U12 Prep Schools’ Hockey Tournament took place on the Beresford and Summerdown pitches. With a record number of schools and teams taking part the schedule demanded that four matches be played concurrently throughout the day.

At lunchtime the teams, their coaches and a great many spectating parents travelled the short distance to the College Dining Hall to enjoy a complimentary buffet. The girls took great pleasure in trying out everything the Dining Hall had to offer, while their parents and coaches enjoyed an excellent lunch courtesy of the College catering team.

After lunch everyone returned to Beresford and Summerdown to complete the remaining matches of the tournament. Each team played every other team – a total of nine matches each during the day.

At 4.15pm the tired but happy players and their supporters gathered in the foyer of the College Birley Centre for tea and presentations by the Headmaster. The final results were very close, with the teams from Dulwich College Prep School (Cranbrook) and Marlborough House finishing with the same number of points. In accordance with the tournament rules, DCPS was awarded the winner’s trophy on goal difference.

Marlborough House took the runners up trophy, with the Bede’s second team receiving the award for fair play. The player of the match was Olivia Tomalin from Marlborough House and the most improved player prize was awarded to Jessica Ashdown from Bede’s.

The photograph above shows the triumphant DCPS team with the Headmaster and and Chris Hibbert.