Visit St.
Andrew's Prep

Board of Governors

Eastbourne College and St Andrew’s Prep operate as two separate schools within one charity. The charity has one governing body and the two schools operate independently, each with its own head responsible to the governors.

The governors serve both as directors and trustees of the charitable company. As a board they are responsible for the overall strategy of the charity and they have statutory responsibility for key aspects of compliance including safeguarding and health & safety. In order to fulfil these responsibilities, they delegate day to day management to the two Headmasters and their senior management teams. They seek to ensure, for all who have an interest in the charity, the maintenance of the distinctive ethos of both schools, and the delivery of its charitable objects for today’s pupils.

Governors come from a wide range of backgrounds, including business, education, and the professions, and all are deeply committed to the schools’ continuing success.  Some are parents of current pupils and some are former pupils themselves.  All are regular visitors to the schools, meeting staff and pupils.

Eastbourne College Incorporated annual report and financial statements year ending 31 august 2019


  • His Grace The Duke of Devonshire KCVO CBE DL

Vice Presidents

  • The Earl of Burlington
  • His Excellency Nasser Judeh BSc
  • General The Lord Richards of Herstmonceux GCB CBE DSO DL


Mr PAJ Broadley MA MSc FCA

Vice Chairman

Mr JP Watmough LLB


Mr AJG Brown BSc

Mr CE Burrows MA

Mr CMP Bush MA

Mr JRE Compton BSc MRSC

Mrs AC Coxen LLB

Mr RV Davidson-Houston BA


Mrs NL Eckert BA PGCE

Mr NJP Elliott BA

Prof Keith Gull CBE DSc(Hon) FRS FMedSci FRSB

Mrs VJ Henley BA

Mrs ME Ireland BSc DipEd

Mrs CP Locher

Mr WHJ Maidens BSC ACA

Mr G Marsh MA


Mr JWS Piper BA MEd

Mr AM Robinson BA ACA

Mrs FA Rodgers BA MA

Mr JH Ryley BA AMP

Ms JA Wheeldon BA FCA

Dr RM Wicks MBBS

In Attendance

Mrs AEM Gough BA FCA

Mr GEB Jones BA MEd

The Hon TNM Lawson MA


Mr PA Shouksmith BSc

If you would like to write to the Chairman of Governors or another governor, please address your correspondence to:

The Clerk to the Board of Governors
Marlborough House
Eastbourne College
Old Wish Road
East Sussex
BN21 4JY